Proverbs 28:13, “He who covers his sins will not prosper, But whoever confesses and forsakes them will have mercy.”

Openness.  Openness about what is done wrong.  The key to openness is to be forthright with information and not trying to hide anything.  Hiding is not beneficial to anyone.  It is a lie and is not giving the sin to God.  Hiding your faults only leads to a weakened relationship with God.

I have three children.  I teach each of them that I am not perfect.  I make mistakes.  I am open with them about their faults because I want them to be open with me.  I do not want them to feel that they have to hide sin.  I want them to be open to talk.  The same is true for us when dealing with God.  We need to be open with God.

One sin I have is anger.  I have a hard time controlling this anger.  I do not hide this from God though and I pray for my anger to be calmed or taken away.  It is a struggle that I deal with daily.  I regret that I am not always successful at dealing with it.  Rather than hide this, I talk to my children, my wife and God about it.  This family is open about feelings and especially faults.

I am not saying all this to say that we are perfect and have it all figured out.  Far from it!  We make mistakes.  We don’t profess to be perfect, ever!  We are all broken, put together by Jesus, our Savior.  We are broken vessels that Jesus puts back together to use for His honor and His glory.  We are saved from destruction to live with Him forever.

The takeaway I can give is be honest with yourself and others.  I would even recommend an accountability partner.  Someone that you report to on how you are doing.  Whether it is your pastor, wife, husband, friend, or coffee barista, find someone who you can open us to about your sins.  Confess what you have done so that it is done before God and with others hearing.  This is not to be done as some ritual to gather attention.  This is rather to admit fault and be forgiven.

God wants us to be a witness to others.  One way of being a witness is showing others who we are, warts and all.  If we come off as perfect, others will not listen.  If we come off as broken, we can show others that even in their broken states, God will save them.  No one can be perfect or needs to get perfect to be saved by God.  Don’t try.  It is not possible.  Rather, bring your dirty rags of a life to the One who is white as snow and let Him make you clean.  Clean all the yuck and sin away.

Like the passage states, in order to prosper with God, do not cover your sins.  Mercy is received from confessed sins and not returning to sin.  We all need mercy.  Sin happen but attempts to avoid sin should be made.  When a sin is committed, bring it to God.  He is there to listen and there to forgive.

Heavenly Father,

We sin.  We fall short.  We ask that You forgive us for our shortcomings.  We can never be perfect as You are perfect.  Through Your salvation, we can be sinless and live in Heaven.  I pray that we are more forthcoming with our faults and give it all to You.  You already know our ways and thoughts.  Let us give to You what You already know.  Nothing is hidden from You.  You are the Almighty God.  You are all-powerful.  We love You and praise Your name forever and ever.

In Your name we pray,

Amen

