Proverbs 20:7, “The righteous man walks in his integrity; His children are blessed after him.”

Everyone should walk in integrity including fathers.  Fathers have the important job as the head of the house and also to teach his children to follow after him.  Fathers have so many responsibilities.  The blessing of children comes from the father.  Fathers’ blessings comes from the Father in Heaven.

Fathers are given an important job by God.  Fathers are to be the head of the house.  They are to lead, not follow.  They are to teach.  They are to show examples of how to live.  How to talk.  How to act.  One problem: fathers are not perfect.  They make mistakes as do all humans.

I am a father.  I do my best to raise the 3 children that I have.  I make mistakes though.  I do not always provide the best teaching I can.  I do not always have time to spend with them due to work.  I do not always lead the way I should.  I am not perfect.  I never profess to be.  My children know this and understand.  I am still their father though.

We serve a God and Father that is perfect.  He does not make mistakes.  His teaching is perfect.  He has all the time in the world to spend with us.  He leads us in perfection and never misleads us.  He is perfect.  He does profess to be.  He can, since He is.  His children (us) can read about how perfect He is.  He is shown to be perfect in His Word, the Bible.  He is our Father.

Fathers on Earth can learn a lot from the Father in Heaven.  He is our example as fathers lead their children.  He is the example for all people.  God knows that fathers have a hard job.  He created us, after all.  This is why fathers must come to God in prayer and read the Word to know how to teach their children.

God is there for us, all of us.  Fathers can also befriend other fathers to help each other out.  It is not easy but we can take comfort in knowing that there are others out there that are in our same circumstance.  They are there to help.  People can and should help each other out.  It is part of being God’s creation.

God is the Father of all nations.  That means that everyone is God’s child.  God’s sons and daughters.  Look at how well God manages His children.  Even when His children turn from Him, He still loves them and waits for them to come back to Him.  This is how we are to be with our own children.  They will make mistakes.  They will not always listen.  We are still supposed to show love though.  This is a lesson that I continually have to learn.  This is a lesson I continually need to hear.

Walk after truth.  Lead in truth.  No lies.  No deception.  Complete openness.  Raise your children with honesty and they will be blessed.  Let them know you are trying.  You are not perfect but you don’t have to be.  You have to be there.  Be there for your children.  Be there for other fathers.  Let God be there for you.

Heavenly Father,

Thank You for fathers.  As a father, I need the reminders of how You are and how You treat us.  I know that I struggle with the flesh and being sinful.  I ask that You be there for me and all the other fathers out there who are trying to raise their children.  Lead them to You.  You are our Father.  Help us to listen to You.  Let us quiet our spirit and listen.  You give us so much.  You gave us Your Word.  Let us read it and apply it to our lives.

In Your name we pray,

Amen

