Psalms 69:1-2, “Save me, O God!  For the waters have come up to my neck.  I sink in deep mire, Where there is no standing; I have come into deep waters, Where the floods overflow me.”

Looking at the words of David makes me reflect on my own life.  How often in my own life do I need God to save me?  How often in my own life are the waters rising faster than I can handle?  It is so easy to feel like David.  It is so easy to just give up and succumb to the flood.

How many people can say that they feel overwhelmed?  With all that occurs today, it is hard not to be.  Families, work, school, and other activities all try to steal attention away.  At the end of the day, how much time is given to God?  I can say, in my own life, that God does not get enough time.  I have to be purposeful in my time with God (reading the Bible, praying, reading devotions).  I sadly know that I could spend more time with God.  It is all about prioritization.

Thankfully, God will save us.  When we are getting lost and far away from God, He will pull us back in.  When we feel like we are drowning in life, God will pull us up and place us on dry land.  The waters can climb higher and higher and before we know it, we are getting pulled under the waves.  The waves are all the things that are detracting from spending time with God.  Are activities like work and school bad?  No, but we have to be careful to not put them before God.

This is what I have learned to do and it works for me.  Everyone needs to have their own style but here is mine.  I wake up before any of my family (usually 7 am or so).  I then spend time talking to God, reading the Bible, and reflecting on all that God has done for me.  This is so that I am making sure to give God the time that He deserves before I start my day.  At the end of the day, I make sure to read more of the Bible, read devotions, and work on this blog that is as much for me as it is for others.  This works for me.  This may not work for you.  All I have to say is that we all need to give God the time that He deserves.

Where we get in trouble is when we forget about God.  Try to live without Him.  Give Him one hour on a Sunday and call it good for the week.  That is not enough.  If you one worked one hour a week at your job, you would not get paid much and it would not be beneficial to you.  The same applies to your walk with God.  One hour a week is not enough to be beneficial.  The time that you invest in God will result in a closer, more meaningful walk with God.  God should not be thought of whenever He is convenient for you.  God should be your first thought in the morning and the last thought before you go to bed.  God should be all in the middle as well.  God should be in all things that you do.

Am I perfect at this?  Nowhere close.  I am a work in progress.  I only ask that as Christians, we continue to daily work on our relationships with God to avoid drowning in the sea of life.  Drowning from all that life has in it.  Filter out the noise and focus on God.  Reach out to God because He is reaching to save you.  Let God save you and quit struggling on your own.  Escape the mire and be placed on holy ground with God.  Be saved by God today.

Heavenly Father,

Thank You for saving us.  You are there and all we have to do is call out to You and You will answer.  If You don’t answer right away, we know that You have a plan and will answer in Your time.  We need You to save us daily and guide our focus.  Please forgive us for not giving You more time.  Let us learn to give more of the time You bless us with to give back to You.  This time is to be spent talking to You, Lord and learning from You.  What we give to You, you give back to us 10 times, 100 times and even 1000 times.  You are truly a gracious God.  Thank You and we praise You.

In Your name we love and pray,

Amen

