Take Care of Those in Need

Proverbs 14:31, “He who oppresses the poor reproaches his Maker, But he who honors Him has mercy on the needy.”

In seeing all the pain and suffering in the world, I have noticed one common thread everywhere I have been.  There are needs.  Needs from people who have less than me.  This has brought me to the realization that I am blessed by a mighty God.  I knew this already but I have a renewed realization.  Those who are in need need help.  Help from those more blessed than them.

Oppression is a vile disease.  So many people are oppressed on a daily basis.  People can be oppressed based on gender.  People can be oppressed by race.  People can be oppressed based on faith and beliefs.  The truth is: there is oppression.  There is also oppression between the rich and the poor.  The rich tend to look down at the poor.  This is not an “always.”  This is not a “blanket” statement.  There are the people who cannot look at homeless people on the side on the road.  They see a need but don’t want to help.

Everyone is created by God.  Everyone should be cared for.  Therefore, if a need is seen, a need should be met.  I have to be truthful that I used to be one of those people who could not look at people on the side of the road.  I would try to avoid them like a plague.  I have since changed my view.  I now help those in need as I see them.  I see them as God sees them.  His creation that needs help.

We should show mercy on those who have a need.  I am not only focusing on homeless people but also organizations that help others.  Charities that devote time and money to helping others.  There are so many to choose from and sometimes it is hard to see the good ones from the bad.  In any case, those who are helping others are helping God’s people.

No matter what your finances are or where you are, there are needs that can be given to.  There are ways that can be used to help.  With more money, time and effort, the needs of the few can be met by the many.  We are all truly blessed by God and can give back to others.  We should spend less time judging people and more time helping people.  We should help and not hinder.  Support and not tear down.  Not only will it help out yourself but it is pleasing to God.

Heavenly Father,

We are truly blessed by all that You give to us.  Help us to be more attentive to those in need.  You bless us with more than we need so that we may bless others.  You give us talents and gifts so that we may help out.  Let us provide for those who need and use what we are given to glorify You.  I pray that we do not keep a hoarding spirit but that we learn to share and help out.  No one deserves to go through the pain and suffering of extreme poverty.  There is so much that we are blessed with and can provide.  We thank You for all that You are and all that You do.

In Your name we pray,

Amen

Leave a Reply

