Proverbs 22:9, “He who has a generous eye will be blessed, For he gives of his bread to the poor.”

Generosity.  Not something that is really popular right now but something that has been weighing on my heart lately.  After driving around the country the past week, I have noticed the need for help in this country and the world.  I know that I have been blessed and have been feeling the pull to be more generous.  I have been looking around and paying more attention to people on the side of the road begging.  I have had my eyes opened to the world I live in.

In Proverbs, it states that a generous eye will be blessed.  I know from my life that when I am giving to others and the church, I receive more.  When I close myself off from the world. I tend to receive little.  I am not just talking about money.  Generosity comes in several forms: time, gifts, and also money.

He gives of his bread to the poor.  The poor are simply people looking for their basic needs to be met: food, water, and shelter.  Money is needed to make sure that basic needs are met.  As people who are blessed with much, we are to give those with little.  God has provided me with far more than I have ever needed.  I, then, can return the favor to other children of God.

I do not know what is in your heart as you read this.  I don’t know how well off you are and what circumstances you are in.  All I can do is ask you to give what you can.  Give to the poor.  Give to the needy.  Give to the many legitimate causes that are out there.  I know I will be doing more and I hope that you can too.

Heavenly Father,

Thank You for giving us giving hearts.  You have blessed us with so much and we can then give back to those who have little.  I pray that we all search our hearts more and see where we give more, not just money.  Our time is important.  Our time should be given, not squandered.  I pray that You will show me and others where we can give our time and money to help others in need.  I know that You are a blessing and merciful God.  Thank You for being that way.

In Your name we pray,

Amen

