Sing, For the Lord is Good!

Psalms 147:1, “Praise the Lord!  For it is good to sing praises to our God; For it is pleasant, and praise is beautiful.

Praising God with song.  This is an excellent form of worship and one that I love as well.  There is something about singing songs to God and about God that just sending chills down my spine.  I feel God in the room where I am every time.  Maybe that is why it says in the Psalms that songs to God are good.

It is good to sing praises to God.  This is a command, not an option.  God wants to hear our voices singing to Him.  He doesn’t care if you are an accomplished artist, musically inclined, or tone-deaf and singing off-key.  God made us and therefore, He loves us.  He loves our voices and He loves when our voices are singing about Him and for Him.

It is pleasant.  Pleasant.  Not terrible.  Not bad.  Pleasant.  God wants our singing because it is pleasing to Him.  When I sing, I sing from the heart and my soul.  I sing as if no one else in the room.  It is just me and God.  God and I are have a conversation in song.  I am, by no means, a great singer.  I am flat most of the time and extremely tone-deaf.  I could not carry a tune in a basket but when it comes to worship time, I sing it out.  I love my God and I am not afraid to show it to others.

Praise is beautiful.  God made many beautiful things in His creation and praise is one of them.  There are many forms of praise such as singing, raising hands to the sky, shouting, and clapping for starters.  God accepts all forms of praise to Him.  God looks at the heart and sees how we are.  Whether we belt out the songs or we whisper the songs, God knows what is in our hearts.  He knows our thoughts.

So the next time you go to church, be sure to sing to God.  Don’t stay silent.  Let God vocally know how much you love Him for all that He is and all that He has done for you.  Let God know that You are His and He is Yours.

Heavenly Father,

Thank You for song.  Thank You for singing.  May we always sing songs to You for all time.  You deserve all our praise, all our worship, and all that we are.  There is no one like You, God.  You are all that we need and we lack nothing.  Let us sing to You as if nothing else matters because nothing else matters except You.  You are our Father and we are Your children.  I pray that all those who believe in You learn to praise You the way You deserve to be praised.

In Your name we pray,

Amen

Leave a Reply

