Proverbs 18:10, “The name of the Lord is a strong tower; The righteous run to it and are safe.”

A strong tower.  God is a strong tower.  When I think of a strong tower, I think of castles that were built in the times of knights, kings, queens, and fair maidens.  I think of men going to war and trying to take over each other’s land and castles and possessions.  I think of greedy kings and kingdoms intent on destruction.  God is much more than that.

God’s name is strong.  His very name can cast out evil and put the devil on the run.  Inside of the embrace of God, we are safe and sound.  No harm will come to us.  That does not mean that harm will stop coming at us.  Rather, the harm will multiply as you become closer and closer to God.  I find this occurs in my own life.  As I try to pray and read my Bible, things try to interrupt me.  As I go to write my blog, I become distracted to the point that I feel like giving up.  This is not the attitude to have.  We must enter the strong tower that is God and fight from there.

Our lives cannot be lived without God.  Well, they can, but I would not recommend it.  In the tower of God, we are safe from the evil that the devil tries to chuck at us.  This is why the righteous run to God.  The righteous know that they cannot live without God.  We cannot save ourselves.  This is how the devil likes to attack.  Convince people that they can live without God.  That we don’t need the Bible.  We don’t need prayer.  But we do.  We need God.

God is there for us.  We may not feel Him but He is there.  He cares about us very much.  That is why we must call on the name of God in all that we do.  When in doubt, pray.  Are you happy?  That is God; give Him the honor and praise.  Are you sad?  Call out to God.  He is there.  In the good times and in the bad times, God is there.  We can curl up with God and He will wrap his loving arms around us.  His arms are big enough for all that want to be with Him.

Will you count on God as your strong tower?  Will you choose to be safe in God?  God is a strong tower and when you accept Him as your Lord and Savior, He can be your strong tower.  He can fight your battles.  He is there.  You will no longer have to struggle on your own.  God cares and He is there.  Let God in.  Go in to God.  He truly is a safe and strong tower.

Heavenly Father,

Thank You, Lord, for being our strong tower.  Let us be safe in You.  I pray that You become everyone’s Lord and Savior.  This world is hurting and corrupted by evil.  We need Your righteousness.  We need You, Lord.  You are safety.  You are our strength.  We cannot exist without You, despite what we feel and believe.  You are the creator of the world, to include the air we breathe and food we eat and the water we drink.  We are because You are.  We live because You live.  Thank You.

In Your name we pray,

Amen

