John 14:27, “Peace I leave with you, My peace I give to you; not as the world gives do I give to you. Let not your heart be troubled, neither let it be afraid.”

In this world, it is easy to allow stress and anxiety to take over and lead to sadness, darkness and depression.  For me, this has occurred on more than one occasion.  What pulled me out of this was God.  Prayer and reading of the Word of God is where I go when I feel sad or depressed.

God’s peace is all-encompassing.  The feeling of God’s arms wrapping around you is like a feeling you have never felt before.  All the noise and all the stress of the world melts away.  When I am praying, reading the Bible, and even when I am writing, I allow myself to be fully immersed in it.  I allow God to cover me and protect me from the world so that I may be closer to Him.

Stress and anxiety changes who God intends you to be.  God wants you to cast your worries on Him.  He is able to take those worries and make them disappear.  You just have to give them to God.  God is bigger than all your problems.  God is bigger than all your worries.  God cares.  God is concerned for your well-being.

Today, let us work to not allow stress, anxiety, and depression change our lives.  Let us put God first and then everything else seems small and insignificant.  God is there for us all the time.  The problem is that we under-utilize God.  We need to go to God more.  We need to talk to God more.  We need to read His Word more.  We need more God.

God is same yesterday, today, and tomorrow.  He doesn’t change.  We change.  We need to make the change and go to God.  Make God our first conversation when we start to feel unhappy.  He is better than a psychiatrist.  He is YOUR BEST FRIEND.  He is your God.

Heavenly Father,

I pray that the world comes to You more.  The world needs You.  The world needs Your loving arms wrapping around them and caring for them.  I need this too.  Help us to be more like You in all that we do.  We give you our stress, anxiety, depression, sadness, and cares.  Please take them and work Your will in our lives.  You are our God and we are Your people.  We know that You will take care of us.  Remove our unbelief that You are not there for us.  You are there.  You are holy.  You are our God forever.

In Your name we pray,

Amen

