Mark 1:16-20, “And as He walked by the Sea of Galilee, He saw Simon and Andrew his brother casting a net into the sea; for they were fishermen.  Then Jesus said to them, ‘Follow Me, and I will make you become fishers of men.’  They immediately left their nets and followed Him.  When He had gone a little farther from there, He saw James the son of Zebedee, and John his brother, who also were in the boat mending their nets.  And immediately He called them, and they left their father Zebedee in the boat with the hired servants, and went after Him.”

Fisherman.  Men whose primary way of paying for goods was catching fish. How poetic is it that people good at catching fish would be tasked to catch men instead.  Jesus saw the potential that these men had.

I really like this story for one main reason.  These four men did not argue, complain or fight Jesus on this decision to follow Him.  They dropped what they were doing and followed Jesus.  I can’t say I wouldn’t have about ten thousand questions Jesus.  “How will I make money?”  “WIll I see my family?”  “Where are we going?”  They didn’t do that.  They left and followed.  No questions asked.

Jesus definitely used a ragamuffin group of individuals to be His disciples.  They had varying occupations that they all left behind.  Jesus didn’t need to offer them anything.  He simply said “Follow Me.”  The authority that Jesus possesses was all that these men needed.

If Jesus came to you today, would you follow Him?  Would you leave the life that you have to follow the Son of God?  I would like to say that I would, but I have some creature comforts that would be hard to leave.  My technology would be hard to leave but I know that God is bigger than anything this world has to offer.  That is why we all should stop what we are doing and follow Jesus.  Jesus is worth it all!

Heavenly Father,

Let us come to You without the things of this world.  Let us give ourselves to You and Your will.  Take us and use us for the purposes of spreading Your word.  I pray that Your people realze the things of this world will pass away but You are forever.  We need You.  We want You.  We choose You.  You are always holy and always righteous.  We bow down and worship You.  Thank You for Jesus and the gift of following Him, because the path that Jesus walks leads to You.

In your precious and awesome name we pray,

Amen

