Confess or Deny…

Luke 12:8-9, “Also I say to you, whoever confesses Me before men, him the Son of Man also will confess before the angels of God.  But he who denies Me before men will be denied before the angels of God.”

Building on the blog I wrote yesterday about Peter (Denial x3) I was led to write on this topic again.  Denial is an important topic but has an equally important opposite topic.  Confirmation or more closely, confession.

This leads to the decision: Do I confess that Jesus is who He says He is or do I deny Him and turn my back on the Son of the Most High God?  For some, this is an easy question to answer.  For others, this is a battle that is waged often, if not daily.  I will admit, before I accepted Jesus as my Lord and personal Savior, I struggled with this.  If people asked if I went to church, I would deny it.  I was ashamed of what people would think.  I have since learned my lesson and declare that Jesus is Lord and do not deny who He is.

Denial is unfortunately a very easy trap to fall into.  Jesus, who no one today has seen today, is easy to deny because He is not seen.  It is easy to deny something that is not seen.  People need to see to believe.  In order to believe without seeing, someone needs something called faith.  Faith in things not seen.  Faith in things not heard.

Jesus is real.  He was born, lived, died, came back to life, and ascended to Heaven.  All recorded in the Bible.  Based on findings by scientists and archeologists, the Bible has been proved time and again to be true.  This all flies in the face of denial.  Hard to deny what several experts in their fields have uncovered.

Jesus made a simple request.  Confess Him before people and Jesus will stand with you before God at the time of judgement or deny Him and Jesus will not stand with you before God.  In order to be saved from death and Hell, we need Jesus.  We need His life giving blood and His sacrifice.  Without it, we fall.  We fall into the pit.  The pit of Hell.  With Jesus, we spend eternity with God.  Heaven or Hell.  No middle ground.  No “riding the fence.”

So today, I encourage you to do a self-checkup.  Are you living for Jesus or against Him?  Take an assessment of your life.  Make sure that you are on the right side.  The side that has Jesus waiting with open arms to invite you in.  The side that has Heaven as the goal, not death and destruction.  Choose Jesus today before it is too late.  Choose to confess Jesus to your friends and family.  This is a decision that deserves your time.

Heavenly Father,

I confess that You are God.  I pray on behalf of all those who are Your creation.  I pray that they will believe in You like I believe in You.  You are real.  Not a figment of an imagination.  Not a fairy tale.  Not a ficticious story that has been told for many generations.  You deserve our time.  You deserve our energy that should be put to serving You.  Please take away the denial that plagues and replace it with wisdom and understanding of You.

In Your faithful name we pray,

Amen

One thought on “Confess or Deny…

Leave a Reply

