Hebrews 4:14-16, “Seeing then that we have a great High Priest who has passed through the heavens, Jesus the Son of God, let us hold fast our confession.  For we do not have a High Priest who cannot sympathize with our weaknesses, but was in all points tempted as we are, yet without sin.  Let us therefore come boldly to the throne of grace, that we may obtain mercy and find grace to help in time of need.”

On this last day of the year 2016, I reflect on all that I have accomplished in the past year.  I can honestly say that there have been times of happiness, times of sadness, and even times of struggle.  I look back and try to figure how I made it through another year on planet Earth.  How did I survive all the onslaughts that the world chucked at me?  How did I accomplish so much?

I then realize that I did not do anything on my own.  Jesus was there with me the whole time.  Jesus has been through extreme pain, suffering, and temptation.  He knows what we go through on a daily basis in life.  The fact is, I could not have made it through the year with God.  God has been there for me even when I didn’t always think I needed Him.  So much of the time I try to do things on my own but in the end, I realize that I need my all-powerful God to step in and make things right.

In times of need, Jesus is there to talk and to carry us through the times in our lives.  There is no promise that life will be easy.  This past year, we have all went through good times and bad times.  Medical issues, death, births, weddings, divorces, and other events.  Through it all, we serve a God who does not abandon us.

We serve a God who has been through it all.  The only difference is that He did it without sin.  He provided the perfect example for us to follow.  He even had it recorded in the Bible so that we can read all about Him and what He did.  Jesus’ life on Earth was short but in that time, Jesus showed us hundreds of examples on how to handle various situations.  Jesus cried during Lazarus’ death, got angry at merchants in the marketplace, defended Himself against the attacks of Satan, and even endured extreme mocking and torture.  Jesus did all of this out of love.  Love for His Father’s creation.

As we close out this year, I want us to be thankful for all that we have and blessings that God has given us.  We truly serve a God that is not out of touch with His creation.  He doesn’t sit on a mountaintop somewhere and ignore us.  He is active in each and every life.  He is present and is waiting for people to call on Him.  All we have to do is talk to Him.  He is there.  We can come to the throne of God and ask for what we need.  In His plan, He will grant us our requests.

Heavenly Father,

Thank You for 2016.  This year was filled with thousands of moments to cherish and remember.  The best part is that You were with us all the time.  You never abandoned us in my times of happiness or sadness.  I always felt You there to comfort me, especially.  I pray that as we enter 2017, You will continue to be with us and provide Your comfort to us.  We need you all the time, not just when we think we need you.  Thank You an inifinite times over.  You alone are our God.  You alone are our strength.  You alone are worthy.

In your all-knowing, all-seeing, and always there for us name we pray,

Amen

