Stand up for your beliefs

Romans 1:16-17, “For I am not ashamed of the gospel of Christ, for it is the power of God to salvation for everyone who believes, for the Jew first and also for the Greek.  For in it the righteousness of God is revealed from faith to faith; as it is written, “The just shall live by faith.”

Matthew 10:32-33, “Therefore whoever confesses Me before men, him I will also confess before My Father who is in heaven.  But whoever denies Me before men, him I will also deny before My Father who is in heaven.”

Merriam-Webster defines “shame” as a painful emotion caused by consciousness of guilt, shortcoming, or impropriety; a condition of humiliating disgrace or disrepute; something that brings censure or reproach; something to be regretted.”

When I think about my God, I think about shame.  My shame.  The shame that I am not good enough to be His.  When I come out of that frame of mind though, I think about how awesome a God we serve.  We serve a God that does not expect us to clean up our lives before coming to Him.  We serve a God that knows His creation better than they know themselves.

In this, I can stand for God wholeheartedly.  I do not need to be ashamed of my life.  I do not have to be ashamed of God.  I can stand for God without fear.  I used to care what others thought about me or how “cool” I needed to be.  I learned that my God is more “cool” than anything in the world or outside of the world.  I learned to serve God and not man.  I want to make God proud.

Salvation brings power.  Power to the one that believes.  Power, not because of the person that believes, but because of the Savior.  The Savior of the world that is Jesus, born in a manger, lived a perfect life, and died on a cross for all.  Power over all sin and death.  Power in the blood.

The second part of this is denial.  Denial in front of men.  I will not allow myself to deny God to anyone.  I am glad because of the God I serve.  He is my best friend.  Someone I can talk to when I am sad, glad, mad, or even confused.  When I think about what Jesus endured on the cross, everything pales in comparison to what I may face.  I have never been persecuted for my beliefs but when the persecution comes, I will be ready.  I will be guarded by a God who is there for me always.

So many people want to do what other people are doing.  They want to follow the trends.  I challenge everyone to start a new (old) trend.  Old in the fact that God is timeless.  Serving God goes back to the time of Adam and Eve.  Serving God is more important than any fashion trend or latest tech.  The gospel of God should be trending everywhere.  That is my goal and should be the goal of every Christian.  Serving God and spreading God’s word to all the Earth.

Live without fear.  Live without shame.  Live free.  Free from the traps that Satan tries to use to hold you down.  Spread your wings.  Spread your wings and fly.  Satan will tell you to keep God away from the world.  I encourage you to ignore that.  God wants His message to hit the ears of all who hear.  Spread the gospel.  Spread it today!

Heavenly Father,

Thank You for the power to stand boldy for You.  We would be nothing without You.  You are truly an awesome God.  We can come to You wherever we are and You are there.  Always there to listen and always there to help.  You are all-powerful, all-knowing, and everywhere.  Thank You.

In Your bold, powerful name we pray,

Amen

Leave a Reply

