Jonah 1:1-3, “Now the word of the Lord came to Jonah the son of Amittai, saying, “Arise, go to Nineveh, that great city, and cry out against it; for their wickedness has come up before Me.”  But Jonah arose to flee to Tarshish from the presence of the Lord. He went down to Joppa, and found a ship going to Tarshish; so he paid the fare, and went down into it, to go with them to Tarshish from the presence of the Lord.”

Jonah and I have a lot in common.  We both like to avoid and wait until the last minute to do things.  Jonah avoided God at every turn when God wanted him to preach to the city of Nineveh.  I choose to delay homework assignments until the last, dying breath.  Avoidance.  Avoiding doing something that needs to be done.  People do it all the time.  I am not the exception; I am the rule.  That is partly why I chose this topic.

Jonah was given a mission by God.  Go and talk to some, not-so-nice people.  Jonah did not want to talk to them.  Instead, Jonah took a boat in a different direction.  Most of you know the story from Sunday School.  Jonah was thrown overboard, eaten by a fish, and eventually, spit out on the shore.  All the heartache and strife could have been avoided if Jonah had just went along with God’s plan.

I heard my calling into the ministry at an early age but avoided it.  I took job after job but they all ended in disaster.  I kept searching for what the world had to offer but it never satisfied.  I am always unhappy.  Then I heard God once again, with a small voice say, “Are you tired?  Do you give up from running from me?  Come to me and I will give you rest.”  I finally listened to God and have begun my ministry preparations through schooling and research.  This blog is part of my listening to God.  This blog is not just for other people; this blog is for me.

I have to say that I have found rest.  I am no longer fighting God’s will for my life.  I am done resisting God.  God’s will needs to be my will.  God knows what is best for us.  He created us so He knows us.  Our very needs and wants.

My hope is this for you: find rest that God provides.  Follow God’s will.  It will not always mean an easy path, but it sure beats resisting God’s will for your life.  We all have a gift and a mission from God.  The key is to find it and use it.  Don’t bury your head in the sand and don’t bury your gift in the sand either.  The world needs you and your gift.  Whatever it is, let it show.

Heavenly Father,

Thank You for Your path.  Your ways are not always my ways.  Help us to align our will with Your will.  You truly know what is best for us.  Help us also to listen to Your voice always.  You are our God.  You are our Lord.  You are our Savior.  Giver of Life and Forgiver of sin.  Thank You so much.  We kneel down and give You all the honor and glory and all of us.

In Your Great and Glorious name we love and pray,

Amen

