Galatians 5:22-23, “But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, longsuffering, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, self-control. Against such there is no law.”

Strong’s Concordance – eirene i-ray’-nay probably from a primary verb eiro (to join); peace (literally or figuratively); by implication, prosperity:–one, peace, quietness, rest, + set at one again.

Peace.  It means so much to so many.  To some it means an end of war.  To others it means a quiet, calm manner.  I look to go further than this definition and look into the peace that God offers.

Jesus is known as the Prince of Peace.  The peace that God offers is far more than quiet, non-war time calmness.  The peace that God offers silences the soul.  In a world that is loud, painful, and quite the opposite of calm, God is here with a gift: the gift of peace.  A rest from the problems of this world.  An escape from the hurt of sin.  When Jesus came to die on the cross, many thought He came to end war and instill peace.  Instead, He died on the cross to give peace to all from sin and death and extreme torture in Hell.

Peace shows as a fruit of the Spirit because peace is required to be a Christian.  Christians must figure out how to silence the noise of the world and focus on God.  Draw attention away from the things the world tries to offer and give attention to God alone.  That cannot be accomplished apart from having peace.  This peace is not derived from some ancient chant or some other inner working, but from the Creator of the world.

Peace requires a oneness between creation and Creator.  I find that in order to have peace, I must submit myself to God in a quiet place.  Through prayer, I truly feel most connected to God.  God’s peace is also found when I enter into my blog space.  When I write, I become one with God and let my fingers work the wonders that God has for me.  It is not my words, but God’s through me.

Do you want peace?  Real peace?  It cannot be bought in a can, found in a store, or purchased online.  It comes from God.  Only with a relationship with God can peace be possible.  Jesus died for the removal of sin to make peace possible.  Sin creates unrest.  Unrest and peace are at war with each other.  Without the death on the cross, peace is not attainable for man.  Jesus wants us to be with His Father in Heaven.  There, we can have peace that truly passes all of man’s understanding.  Peace that will comfort the deepest recesses of a person.  I have this peace and you can too if you only believe in the God that I believe in.  Choose God and choose peace today!

Heavenly Father,

Thank you for peace.  We know that this world is filled with war, hate, and other foul, sinful things.  At the heart of you, God, there is love and peace.  Peace that calm the raging sea.  Peace that still the worried heart.  I pray that you continue to provide me with that peace as well as show others this peace.  Many will not believe that this type of peace is possible.  I know that with you, all things are possible.  You are such a wonderful, compassionate God.  Thank you for peace that is made possible by you alone.

In your peaceful and loving name we pray,

Amen

 

