1 Peter 5:8-11, “Be sober, be vigilant; because your adversary the devil walks about like a roaring lion, seeking whom he may devour.  Resist him, steadfast in the faith, knowing that the same sufferings are experienced by your brotherhood in the world.  But may the God of all grace, who called us to His eternal glory by Christ Jesus, after you have suffered a while, perfect, establish, strengthen, and settle you.  To Him be the glory and the dominion forever and ever. Amen.”

In this passage, I realized something with some help from my wife.  The devil is looking for people to attack.  As I started writing my blog site, I began to feel the weight of the world on my shoulders like a ton of bricks.  I still feel it know.  That is how I know that I am doing God’s work.  Never do you know more about the feeling of being weighed down than when you are getting close to God.

I am renewing my mind and getting my head in the game.  I will start by giving my weight to God.  Giving my problems to God.  Giving my love to God and His creation.  I have anger issues that I have to deal with all the time.  I do not always keep them in check though.  I lash out due to stress, among other reasons.  That is not resisting the devil.  That is giving in.  That is not who I want to be.  That is the easy path.

This is the hard path.  It includes vigilance, which  means being aware and alert.  We had a phrase in the army, “Stay alert, stay alive.”  This also applied to your Christian walk.  Stay alert of what Satan is trying to do in your life.  Soberness is needed.  If you are not sober, you are more likely to give in and give up.  Resistance is required.  God provides the answer to the devil’s schemes.

God sent His son, Jesus, to die on the cross for our sins and to defeat sin and the devil.  God helps us put the devil where he belongs.  Lock him out from your heart.  Give your mind, body and soul to God.  God wants to strengthen us.  All we have to do is ask.  Ask for the strength for the day, every day.  God knows what we need, but we must ask.

Here is my challenge: over the next week, let’s make more time for God and less time for the worldly things.  Dive into the Word of God more, pray more, and give more.  Every day, make a conscious effort to give more to God.  I am also challenging myself.  I am not perfect.  I make lots of mistakes.  I know my faults and I am not here to judge.  Pray to God to know yours and to deal with whatever you need to to get right with God.  That is the answer to the test.

Heavenly Father,

Thank you for having my back, front and sides.  The devil thinks he can defeat me, but he underestimates the power of my God.  With you, nothing is impossible.  With you, I can do all things.  I will not stop.  I will not back down.  I will not give up.  I will fight for you, God.  You are for me, so how can anyone stand against you.  Thank you for my family, especially my wife, who is always there for me.  I appreciate you sweetheart, more than you know.  God, you truly have blessed me more than I could ever know.

In your loving, strong, and helpful arms I commit myself,

Amen

**I am here to talk about anything if anyone needs to talk about issues in their life.  I will not share them in my blog, unless you want me to.  I am not like that.  I am open about myself.  If you need to know more about the God that I am talking about, let me know.  It would please me to help you by leading you to Christ, my Savior.  He can be your Savior.**

