Luke 12:13-21, “Then one from the crowd said to Him, ‘Teacher, tell my brother to divide the inheritance with me.’  But He said to him, ‘Man, who made Me a judge or an arbitrator over you?’  And He said to them, ‘Take heed and beware of covetousness, for one’s life does not consist in the abundance of the things he possesses.’  Then He spoke a parable to them, saying: ‘The ground of a certain rich man yielded plentifully.’  And he thought within himself, saying, ‘What shall I do, since I have no room to store my crops?’  So he said, ‘I will do this: I will pull down my barns and build greater, and there I will store all my crops and my goods.’  And I will say to my soul, ‘Soul, you have many goods laid up for many years; take your ease; eat, drink, and be merry.’  But God said to him, ‘Fool! This night your soul will be required of you; then whose will those things be which you have provided?’  ‘So is he who lays up treasure for himself, and is not rich toward God.’”

This is the parable of the rich fool.  This parable always made me examine my life and how I live it.  As the United States celebrates “Black Friday”, a day where people go out at strange hours and buy things that they think they need, I think about what I actually need.  God provides for all of my needs; the rest is just stuff.

The goods of this world are just that, goods.  They may make the world more pleasurable but they do little else.  The man in the parable squandered the money he was blessed with by God.  God does not like when people waste His money.  That is what money is, God’s  When you die, all your possessions go to someone else.  They do not go with you.  When someone dies, possessions are split up between family members that are still living.

God offers something better than wealth and goods.  God offers Jesus, His son, who died on the cross for our sins.  What Jesus did is worth more than all the wealth in the world.  Jesus gave us something that is for the next life: eternal life.  Eternal life with the Father in Heaven.  Jesus, who knew no sin, took on our sin so that we would be sin-less in God’s eyes.  This is best gift anyone could ever receive.

Heavenly Father,

Thank you for sending Jesus to this world to live, die and create a way for us to be with you after we die.  This is what we need and the things of the world do not last like the salvation that you offer.  We need you, God, very much.  Stuff will come and stuff will go but your love is forever.  Thank you for all that you do in our lives, God.  You are a gracious God who does not ignore His creation but is very active in our lives, even if we do not see it.  Help us to see through the nothingness that this world is and look further to the New Earth and the New Heaven that is talked about in Revelation.

In your gift-giving and ever-loving name we pray,

Amen

