No lies….

Ephesians 4:25-27, “Therefore, putting away lying, ‘Let each one of you speak truth with his neighbor,’ for we are members of one another.  ‘Be angry, and do not sin’ do not let the sun go down on your wrath, nor give place to the devil.”

Lying.  So easy to do and yet, so harmful to the one doing it and to others it involves.  Lying is not simply telling a non-truth but so much more.  Lying is the gateway to many more sins that can occur.  Lying is not simply an action but a way of life for some.

In my life, I can remember lying so that I could get things or lying to get away with things.  In the end, I only hurt the ones that I love and for that, I can only think of how different it could have been if I had just told the truth.  Lying becomes a web that tends to tangle the offender up.  I can remember having trouble remembering who I had told what and it was exhausting.  Truth is much simpler and much less work.  Choose truth over the lie.

In the verses I chose, we are not to let the sun go down on our wrath.  This is something that is done in this house.  No matter what the issue is, my wife and I go to bed having resolved whatever we need to.  This does not always happen, but the attempt is there.  When sinful anger is in place, it takes root and allows the devil in.  This is why we resolve our problems to keep the devil out.

Truth is also connected to love.  If you love someone, you will be truthful with them.  There will be no need to lie.  I know this may be difficult but try truth.  The next time you think about lying, think about the consequences.  They are not worth it.  Truth wins out every time.

Dear God,

In a world full of lies and deceit, I choose truth.  I pray that the world chooses truth.  Lies do not originate from you but from our adversary, the devil.  You are all truth and our example on how to live life.  I pray over all the nation and its leaders.  Show them that they do not have to lie and that the truth is what is needed to improve trust.  We need you, God and we need truth.  Thank you for the truth of the gospel and for the truth of the life, death and resurrection of Jesus to save us from the sins of lying among all the sins that are committed.

In your truthful and ever-loving name we pray,

Amen

Leave a Reply

