I John 3:13-15, “Do not marvel, my brethren, if the world hates you.  We know that we have passed from death to life, because we love the brethren. He who does not love his brother abides in death.  Whoever hates his brother is a murderer, and you know that no murderer has eternal life abiding in him.”

Yesterday, I wrote about love.  Today, I flip the proverbial coin and talk about hate.  This is not a topic that lots of people want to discuss but is necessary.  God’s view on hate is simple.  Love is life, which means hate is death.

If you hate your fellow man, you are essentially killing them.  This is what Jesus experienced prior to his death.  Jesus was hated by some and loved by others.  It was because of that hate that Jesus died to save the world from sin.  Hate is so powerful and yet people do not realize the power of hate.  Absolute love conquers all but absolute hate destroys all.

Satan is hate.  Satan wanted to be equal with God and was cast out of Heaven due to his hatred of God.  Ever since that, Satan tries to undermine God’s love by injecting hate where he can.  This is why the world needs to choose love.

This world is hurting and all it can do is choose to go against its itself.  Love can heal and love can help.  Hate does the opposite.  Hate tears down what love wants to build up.  This is what has to change.

Before saying the word “hate”, think about what you are saying.  I know that I have after reading this section.  I have eliminated this word from my vocabulary unless it refers to sin.  God hates sin.  Therefore, we are allowed to hate sin, but not the sinner.  Choose love.  Choose love every time.  There is no time for hate.  Hate ruins.  Hate is meaningless unless directed at the right thing.

Dear God,

I pray that this world removes hate.  I pray that the world choose love.  Love is the cure and you know love, God.  You sent your loving son, Jesus, to die on the cross for the cure to sin and hate.  Absolute love was shown that day on the cross.  Especially during this time of the year, I pray that families come together and show each other love and put aside whatever problems they are having.  Love or hate, the choice is ours.  I know that love wins and that is why I choose love.

In your gracious name we pray,

Amen

