Show Love to All

Luke 6:27-36, “But I say to you who hear: Love your enemies, do good to those who hate you, bless those who curse you, and pray for those who spitefully use you.  To him who strikes you on the one cheek, offer the other also. And from him who takes away your cloak, do not withhold your tunic either. Give to everyone who asks of you. And from him who takes away your goods do not ask them back. And just as you want men to do to you, you also do to them likewise.  But if you love those who love you, what credit is that to you? For even sinners love those who love them.  And if you do good to those who do good to you, what credit is that to you? For even sinners do the same.  And if you lend to those from whom you hope to receive back, what credit is that to you? For even sinners lend to sinners to receive as much back.  But love your enemies, do good, and lend, hoping for nothing in return; and your reward will be great, and you will be sons of the Most High. For He is kind to the unthankful and evil.  Therefore be merciful, just as your Father also is merciful.”

Every time that I read this portion of the Bible, I become saddened.  Not because this passage is sad, but because of how I act according to this passage.  I find it hard to love my enemies but I know that I must do it.  I should not have to be commanded to love anyone though.  That is what makes me sad but also what motivates me to be more like Jesus.

Jesus tells us that we are to love everyone, including people who don’t love us back.  This rang true for Jesus, who had several groups of people who hated him, even to his death.  Jesus knew all about love and his death on the cross did not just cover his friends but also his enemies.  Jesus died for all, not some.  Jesus chose only love in what He said and what He did.  Not because He had to but because He chose to.  He could have given us what we deserved: death.  Jesus, instead, choose to give life.  Life after this life.

I would like to say that I am always working on myself in regards to this.  This is not to be prideful.  I am far from where I want to be but with the grace of God, I will get there.  In light of the news and what is happening in the world, I am greatly appalled at the lack of love shown.  All that is shown is hate and nasty words.  Hate is happening between Christians and non-Christians, conservatives and liberals, nation and nation.  Both sides of the fence are limited to an elementary-style vocabulary of taunts and rants.  I encourage everyone to love like Jesus loves.  That is my example and He can be yours.  Let Jesus guide your words.

The world needs love, not hate.  We, as people, are all the same.  We are all the creation of God.  That is to say that we all deserve love and respect.  This is my challenge for today and for the coming days.  We all need to join together and love.  We must learn to help out our fellow man.  “Do onto others as you wish for them to do onto you.”  This should be our motto.  If we would not do or say it to ourselves, we should not do or say it to others.  Love as God loves.  The world needs to unite in love.  Please hit the “Love” button as shown in the picture I chose.  Choose love today and show what God shows.

Dear God,

I choose love.  I choose to love all your creation, regardless of what differences I may have with them.  I pray that the world sees your love and chooses to show that love to others.  It may be hard or even hurt to love those who don’t love back, but we must show love.  The love that is shown is helpful to all.  I pray over all the world that desperately needs to see that love conquers all.  Instead of hate that tears down, choose love that builds up.  Show us how to love as you love, God.

In your ever-loving and ever-caring name we pray,

Amen

Leave a Reply

