Are you hungry?

John 6:35, “And Jesus said to them, ‘I am the bread of life.  He who comes to Me shall never hunger, and he who believes in Me shall never thirst.”

In the title I posed the question, “Are you hungry?”  I know that I am hungry often throughout any given day.  I also get dehydrated and need water to drink.  The problem is that I have to keep eating and keep drinking in order to be satisfied.  I often think about how nice it would be to eat once and never need to eat again.

Jesus offers something that this world cannot offer: bread and water.  Now our world has bread and water but not like what Jesus can give.  Jesus is the “bread.”  Jesus’ death on the cross wipes out all the sin of the world.  Jesus is also the drink.  Jesus’ blood was spilled for the world.  Bread and water continue to be staple items in this world and thus, Jesus used this to show people that Jesus is a “need”, not a “want.”

So often, people wander around looking for answers when the answer is right in front of them.  God sent his son Jesus to Earth to take away sin.  With Jesus, our needs are met spiritually.  That does not mean that when you accept Jesus, you do not need to eat or drink.  In this world, that is necessary.  In the next world, Jesus is our ambassador to God.  All our sins are wiped away and Jesus is the key to get into the kingdom of Heaven.  Without Jesus, we would not be allowed in.

Will you accept the bread of life?  HE is waiting for you to eat at his table.

Bonus verse: Revelation 3:20-21, “Behold, I stand at the door and knock. If anyone hears My voice and opens the door, I will come in to him and dine with him, and he with Me.  To him who overcomes I will grant to sit with Me on My throne, as I also overcame and sat down with My Father on His throne.”

Dear God,

I pray that all who hear this will accept your standing dinner invitation.  What you offer far exceeds anything offered on this Earth.  I pray that all come to know you and accept you as their personal Savior.  You are an awesome God, who cares very deeply for His creation.  If this were not so, we would not have received Jesus, who died on the cross for our sins.  Thank you for another day to live for you.

In your gracious and holy name,

Amen

Leave a Reply

