Choose whom you will serve

Exodus 20:3-6, “You shall have no other gods before Me.  You shall not make for yourself a carved image—any likeness of anything that is in heaven above, or that is in the earth beneath, or that is in the water under the earth; you shall not bow down to them nor serve them. For I, the Lord your God, am a jealous God, visiting the iniquity of the fathers upon the children to the third and fourth generations of those who hate Me, but showing mercy to thousands, to those who love Me and keep My commandments.”

Every day there is a battle.  The battle is between good and evil.  I find myself daily choosing whom I will serve in everything that I do.  I am not saying that I don’t follow God, but everyday I wake up, renewing my mind for the day ahead.  Everything in this world is fighting for our attention.  Everything that detracts from God can be an idol.

Technology and gaming used to be my idol.  I would skip meals, skip family functions, and even worse skip church to play games on the computer.  I learned and prayed to God for help with removing myself from that situation.  I still use technology (I am typing this blog on a computer, aren’t I) 🙂 but I don’t make it my god.

Every day  I make it a point to have a family Bible study to learn more about the Word of God.  We are always busy, but I know how important it is to give time to God.  This is not to say that I am perfect at this.  I struggle with not wanting to find the time, but as a Christian, I know that reading the Bible is as crucial to me as breathing oxygen to survive.  If I am to battle the evil in this world, I need to know more about God and have personal time with God.

I would like to close with a challenge.  Take a week and limit what you do that is extracurricular.  Use that time to spend praying and being in God’s word.  This is important to your faith and important to your soul.  After the week, see how you feel.  I have to say that I felt much better.  I pray that you do too.

Bonus verses:

I Peter 5:8 “Be sober, be vigilant; because your adversary the devil walks about like a roaring lion, seeking whom he may devour.”

Joshua 24:15, And if it seems evil to you to serve the Lord, choose for yourselves this day whom you will serve, whether the gods which your fathers served that were on the other side of the River, or the gods of the Amorites, in whose land you dwell. But as for me and my house, we will serve the Lord.”

Dear God,

I pray that you put a protection over your people from the devil.  I pray that you cast him out of the lives of the people that are following you.  We know that you are a jealous God and as for my house, we choose God.  I do not choose to serve anything but you.  Only you are worthy of my time.  I pray that you will help me to draw closer to you and depend on you more and more each day.  I love you and need you, Father.  I also pray that this blog will lead others to eliminate their idols and choose you this day.

In your your precious and all powerful name,

Amen

Leave a Reply

