The Great Physician

Luke 5:30-32 “And their scribes and the Pharisees complained against His disciples, saying, “Why do You eat and drink with tax collectors and sinners?”  Jesus answered and said to them, “Those who are well have no need of a physician, but those who are sick.  I have not come to call the righteous, but sinners, to repentance.”

Jesus’ time on Earth was short.  In that time, He needed to accomplish everything that He came to do.  This including healing the sick.  Luke, the author of the text I selected, was a doctor by trade and recognized that Jesus is the Great Physician.  Luke could cure the body.  Jesus can cure not only the body of ailments but also the soul from the effects of sin.  The miracles that Jesus performed still happen today as I read articles on people who die and come back to life by the grace of God or have a incurable illness that goes away.

In my life, I find myself being with people that are safe and know the Lord but I know that is not all of what I am called to do.  As a Christian, I am called to witness to those in need of the Heavenly doctor.    I too often find myself like the Pharisees and religious leaders of the day, judging people because of their sickness.  I then think back to when I needed Jesus to come into my life.  I, like everyone, have things in my past that I am not proud of.  No one is perfect.  Everyone needs Jesus. I am hear to say that Jesus saves, no matter what your past is.

I know that this life and body will go away and I will be with the Lord in Heaven.  Throughout my life, I have made some decisions that have affected the health of my body, but I know that Jesus has been there through all of it.  What I ask of you is this: Do you know where you are going when you die?  The Great Physician is waiting to heal you of the disease called sin.  All you have to do is ask and He will be there to wash the sin away.  I would like to end this entry with a prayer and also a request that if you do not know Jesus as your Lord and Savior, He is there, waiting for you to call on His name and ask for forgiveness.  I would be happy to lead anyone through the plan of salvation.

Dear God,

Thank you for all the great things that you do for your creation daily.  We would not exist except for your loving care that you show to us.  I pray that you will use me to spread your gift of life after death and the cure for sin.  That cure is through salvation by the life, death, and resurrection of Jesus.  No appointment required.  No waiting in an office.  Let us continue to be thankful for all that we have.  I also pray that those who need you most will come to you and receive you into their hearts as I have done.

In your great and powerful name we pray,

Amen.

Leave a Reply

